MMIX Readings and “The Blood-Jet” on Poetry Foundation

Phew!

Thanks to MMIX Writers Los Angeles, MorYork Gallery, Cafe Muse, folks who came out to all the wonderful literary events this month.  I love doing themed readings.  The MorYork reading was centered on childhood; Cafe Muse on sex.  It was fun to play around with my setlist and read poems I don’t usually read.  It was also nice to give my aswang poems a break for once.

Below are photos from the reading at the gorgeous MorYork Gallery.

For more photos, check out the MMIX Blog and Sorin Constantin’s website.

In other news…

Thanks to Barbara Jane Reyes who interviewed me about “The Blood-Jet Writing Hour” on PoetryFoundation.org.

“Poetry is the blood-jet. There is no stopping it.” –Sylvia Plath

I wanted to shout out Rachelle Cruz, whose work I was introduced to a couple of years ago at the San Francisco Litquake’s boisterous Litcrawl, where she read for the API arts org, Kearny Street Workshop. I picked up her chapbook, honey may soon run out, because I was impressed with how concrete, meticulous, and emotionally well-considered her poems and her reading were. She’s a young and energetic poet, a recent PEN Center USA Emerging Voices Fellow, and I am confident we’ll be seeing all kinds of good work coming from her in years to come. Currently, she is the host of the weekly The Blood-Jet Writing Hour online radio show.

You can read the rest of the article here.

Leave a comment

Filed under emerging voices, los angeles, MMIX, readings

Leave a Reply

