Yay!

I just submitted my first application to grad school for creative writing! Cheers to starting the new year off right.

A few more resolutions:

*Submit to literary journals once every two months.

*Find an Asian American and Filipino writing and arts community in Los Angeles.

*Apply to the Kundiman Retreat. Check out their fancy new website.

***

The other night, I was in a bit of a funk. Sometimes I don’t know what I’m doing in Los Angeles. I question the writing life. I find that I need to be more challenged at work. Before bed, I cleaned my room, organized my shelf of old journals, and opened one of them to find this quote:

“At present, live the question.” – Rilke

I’m reminded of the benefits of writing every morning and keeping notes when I can read about what my life was like a year or two ago. It’s nice to know that whatever I was worrying about a year ago, is not really an issue now. Or is still something I’m working on. I’m learning to live the question, rather than stress out about the answer.

On another note, check out this event I’m doing with MMIX Writers’ group:

MMIX Literary Reading
01.28.10 6:30 PM
MOCA Grand Avenue, Ahmanson Auditorium
MMIX Los Angeles Writers, co-founded by recipients of the 2009 PEN Center USA Emerging Voices Fellowship, read new work in response to the exhibition Collection: MOCA’s First Thirty Years. The group’s eight members—poets, fiction and non-fiction writers—draw inspiration from their diverse communities and experiences, and from the dynamic interplay of the literary and visual arts. Featuring: Erika Ayon, John Boucher, Rachelle Cruz, Thi Dao, Parnaz Foroutan, Sylvia Sukop, Marissa Tinloy, and Mehnaz Turner.INFO 213/621-1745 or education@moca.org
FREE
Leave a comment

Filed under los angeles

Leave a Reply

