Escape

I write this post instead of my autobiographical sketch for UC Irvine’s MFA program.  🙂

Today I really felt the weight of the grind, so after my first job in Westwood (I have about half an hour between jobs) I escaped to the Hammer Museum.  Their cafe area is outdoors, yet closed-in because it’s surrounded by their exhibits.

On one side, people eat their fancy Wolfgang Puck lunches, and on the other side, folks like me sneak in to be near the towering bamboo and palm trees, the rocks, the close-to-stillness in the city.

I usually write in the mornings, on the bus, at the cafe, and I forget how nice it is to switch it up.

I’ve been working on the Aswang in L.A. stuff, which I’m quite excited about.

Leave a comment

Filed under los angeles

Leave a Reply

