Monster Mash

I’ve been inundated with books/stories/poems about witches, demons, imaginary beings lately.  Partake in my nerd-dom (where I’m the queen), and read this list:

Book of Imaginary Beings By Jorge Luis Borges

I, Tituba, Black Witch of Salem by Maryse Conde (a book I was supposed to read freshman year of college, but didn’t.  Actually, got away with this discussion comment: “Tituba becomes empowered in this book.  Look at the title. I, TITUBA.”

Vice by Ai (for persona poem studying)

Autobiography of Red by Anne Carson (for the long poem aspect.  and the mythic stuff.)

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

I’ve been told to watch Elephant Man dir. by David Lynch as well.  Are there any other good or classic monster movies that I need to watch?

I’ve been writing myself to exhaustion lately.  I don’t know if what I’m writing is any good, or if it even ties in with what I’m trying to do.  But it shouldn’t be my business to judge yet, huh?  As I’ve been writing these aswang persona poems, I’ve been trying to control the language, as well as develop her voice.  The hard part comes when I find myself switching back and forth to the other personas that I’m working on. Focus.

Yesterday, I attended a great workshop at UCLA Writer’s Extension called “The Writer’s Banquet,” which was about using food in writing.  One of my favorite exercises was eating different flavored Jelly Bellys and writing automatically for five minutes about the memory that’s triggered from the flavor.  The majority of the fellows were present, and we were able to represent and cause a raucous in class.

Leave a comment

Filed under writing process

Leave a Reply

